2017 Kyoto Prize Winner

It is with pleasure and great pride that we congratulate Professor Graham Farquhar AO (Class of 1964) on the announcement of his winning the 2017 Kyoto Prize - for his work improving water-efficient crops and analysing climate change. He is the first Australian to receive the Kyoto Prize, the highest honour for scientists working in fields not covered by the Nobel Prize.

Graham’s work has been recognised widely with many awards including: 

- Order of Australia (AO) – 2013;
- Shared Nobel Prize - 2007 - Inter-Governmental Panel on Climate Change - Al Gore Group;
- Peter Baume Award – 2011 - The Australian National University’s highest award;
- Rank Prize – 2014 - (UK) - Nutrition, animal and crop husbandry;
- Prime Minister’s Prize for Science - 2015; 

A wonderful life of scientific research and discovery which was fostered at McKinnon in the early 1960’s. Well done Graham from the entire McKinnon school community.